CBMA Nominations Announced today on 94.9 The Surf Facebook Page – Tune in to the Show – 11am to 2pm at HOTO’s

if you are not on facebook, you may have to refresh your browser to see the page update

Recap of the CBMA Nominations for 2017

Guy Brooks “Beautiful Goodbye” – The Castaways
Keith Houston – “Midnight Allie CD” – Midnight Allie
Keith Houston – “Summertime Fun CD” – Various
Mark Stallings – “When I’m With You” – Lakeside Drive
Rick Strickland – “Life in the Key of Lesa” – Lesa Hudson

Keith Houston, Julian B. Fowler, Jay Jenkins – “Summertime Fun CD” – Various Artists
Keith Houston, Julian B. Fowler, Jay Jenkins – “Where It All Began & Continues CD” – Various Artists
Rick Strickland – “Life in the Key of Lesa CD” – Lesa Hudson
Roger Smith – “When I’m With You” – Lakeside Drive
Quick, Harvell & Sidden – “We Are Beach Music” – Various Artists

Michael Branch Award:
Pat Patterson – Beach Music 45
Eric Bowman – Bowties Entertainment
Julian B. Fowler – Little Peddler
Rob Harvell – Grand Strand Entertainment
Woody & Sharon Wimmer – Wimmer Productions

Shag Club Event
Cabin Fever Throwdown Raleigh Shag Club Raleigh NC
Capital City Extravaganza VII Capital City Shag Club Columbia, NC
CSRA Classic Augusta Shag Club Augusta, GA
Sparkle City Celebration 2016 R&B Shag Club Spartanburg, SC
Whirlwind Invitational Twisters Shag Club Cornelius, NC

Concert Series of The Year
Blackmon Amphitheater Summer Music Series Mt Airy, NC
Downtown Gastonia Summer Concerts Series Gastonia, NC
The Edge Concert Series Carolina Beach, NC
Music on Main (Horseshoe) N. Myrtle Beach, SC
Shoe Center Appreciation Days N. Myrtle Beach, SC

Event of The Year
2nd Annual Large Time Cruise Port Canaveral, FL
Fun Monday 2016 N. Myrtle Beach, SC
King’s Mountain Beach Blast King’s Mountain, NC
Makin’ Waves Cruise 2017 Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Ocean Drive Beach Music Festival N. Myrtle Beach, SC

Rising Star
Feature Attraction Band
James Michael Brown Band
Otto Reynolds
Silk Groove
The Tonez

Collaboration or Duo
“Baby Don’t Go” – Karen Clayton & Phil Wilson
“I’m Still Here” – Gary Brown & Clifford Curry
“Love Power” – Tim Cashion & Terri Gore
“Too Many Tears” – Gary Lowder & Marsha Morgan
“We Are Beach Music” – Multiple Artists

Compilation Album of the Year
“Carolina Shag VI” – Sisbro
“The Next Chapter” – Green Dot Records
“One & Only” – KHP Music
“Summertime Fun” – KHP Music
“Where It All Began and Continues” – KHP Music

Group Album of the Year
“Blackwater Rhythm & Blues” Blackwater Rhythm & Blues
“Dancin’ & Romancin’” Catalinas
“Midnight Allie” Midnight Allie
“Ones You Might Have Missed” Band of Oz
“Playin’ With Fire II” Gary Lowder & Smokin’ Hot

Solo Album of the Year
“Lookin’ For Sugar” Rhonda McDaniel
“Best of Rhonda McDaniel” Rhonda McDaniel
“Life in The Key of Lesa” Lesa Hudson
“Love Songs & Other Stuff” Gary Brown
“The Heart and Soul of Danny Woods” Danny Woods

“Oh Honey” Jackie Gore & Rhonda McDaniel
“Should Have Been Loving You” Gary Lowder & Smokin’ Hot
“Sooner or Later” Harold Smith / Midnight Allie
“The Last Thing on My Mind” Rick Strickland
“This Love” Tim Clark Band

National Dance Song
“24K Magic” Bruno Mars
“Cake by The Ocean” DNCE
“Run for Cover” Sonja Grier
“San Miguel” Delbert McClinton
“Why You Wanna Do That” Lomax

Song Writer(s)
Rick Lee “Love You Tonight” Too Much Sylvia
Rick Strickland “The Last Thing on My Mind” Rick Strickland Band
Roger Smith “When I’m With You” Lakeside Drive
Taylor, Moore & Farrington “Act Your Age’ Holiday Band
William Sellers “Birmingham” Blackwater Rhythm & Blues

Live Production
Bob Blair Embers ft. Craig Woolard
Chris Wooten Rick Strickland Band
Guy Mitchell Gary Lowder & Smokin’ Hot
John Brady Band of Oz
Preston Honeycutt Hip Pocket

Internet Radio Station
Beach Shag Rhythm & Blues Radio – Shaun Lamm
Jukinoldies.com – Hook, Metcalf, Baker…etc
Rememberthenradio.com – Steve Soskin & Barbara Cornagie
Riptideradio.com – Ray Scott
Yourbeachmusic.com – Joey Warren, John Hall

Internet Radio Show
“Just Shaggin’” Trey Snide
“Morning Mess Around” Joey Warren
“Sand, Salt & Sea” Ray Scott
“Shaun Lamm’s Beach Jams” Shaun Lamm
“Soul Dog’s Beach Boogie &Blues” Neal Furr

FM Radio Station
91.7 WSGE Dallas, NC
93.1 WZMJ Lexington, SC
96.5 WPCC Clinton, SC
98.3 WLUS Oxford, NC
99.1 WDZD Monroe, NC

AM Radio Station
860 WEVA Emporia, VA
1070 WNCT Greenville, NC
1090 WKTE King, SC
1150 WBAG Burlington, NC
1570 WNCA Siler City, NC

FM Radio DJ (Larry Crockett Award)
Eric Bowman 99.1 FM / WDZD Monroe, NC
John Barkley 91.7 FM / WSGE Dallas, NC
Mike Worley 94.9 FM / WVCO Loris, SC
Pat Patterson 96.5 FM / WPCC Clinton, SC
Scott Smith 91.7 FM / WSGE Dallas, NC

AM Radio DJ (John R Award)
Andy Lucy 860 AM / WEVA Emporia, VA
Barry Hayes 1570 AM / WNCA Siler City, NC
Elizabeth Carlene 770 AM / WLWL Rockingham, NC
Fred Rouse 1070 AM / WNCT Greenville, NC
Justin Rouse 1070 AM / WNCT Greenville, NC

Internet Radio DJ
Joey Warren Yourbeachmusic.com
Neal Furr – Rememberthenradio.com
Ray Scott – Riptideradio.com
Shaun Lamm Beach Shag Rhythm & Blues Radio
Trey Snide thr3andoutradio.com

Syndicated Radio Show
“Beach Music Top 40” John Hook
“Carolina Sounds Beach Show” Butch Halpin
“Darin & Anita on the Grand Strand” Darin Henley & Anita Littman
“On the Beach w/ Charlie Brown” Charlie Brown & Chris Beachley
“On the Beach w/ Pat Gwinn” Pat Gwinn & Glasgow Hicks

Radio Show of The Year
Beach Trip Scott Smith
Beat of The Beach Pat Patterson
Edge Radio Show Mike Worley
Surf Top 20 Countdown Ted Bell
Wave Beach Music Countdown Eric Bowman

Club (Bill Griffin Award)
Lynn’s Dance Club Charlotte, NC
OD Pavilion N. Myrtle Beach, SC
TB’s Shack on The Water Prosperity, SC
Thirsty’s 2 Greensboro, NC
TJ’s Nightlife Raleigh, NC

Show Club (Cecil Corbett Award)
Chief’s Wings – Firewater Greenville, SC
Deckerz N. Myrtle Beach, SC
Duck’s Beach Club N. Myrtle Beach, SC
Mulligan’s Sports Bar & Restaurant Little River, SC
Spanish Galleon N. Myrtle Beach, SC

David Franks Keyboards Band of Oz
Don Jordan Guitar Blackwater Rhythm & Blues
Hugh “Tuff” Blanton Bass Jim Quick & Coastline
John Arthurs Guitar Castaways
Leroy Harper Sax Gary Lowder & Smokin’ Hot
Rick Strickland Guitar Rick Strickland Band

Club / Mobile DJ (Richard Nixon)
Darin Henley
Eric Bowman
Johnny B (John Barkley)
Mike Worley
Pat Patterson

Group of The Year
Band of Oz
Blackwater Rhythm & Blues
Fantastic Shakers
Gary Lowder & Smokin’ Hot
Jim Quick & Coastline
Rick Strickland Band

Song of the Year
“Ay Les Bys” Rhonda McDaniel
“Be with The One That You Love” Embers ft Craig Woolard
“Everyday Love” Band of Oz
“I Do Love You” Lesa Hudson
“Should Have Been Loving You” Gary Lowder & Smokin’ Hot

Female Vocalist
Allie Privette
Karen Clayton
Lesa Hudson
Rhonda McDaniel
Stacy Danner
Terri Gore

Male Vocalist
Albert “Redd” Cottle
Craig Woolard
Gary Lowder
Jim Quick
Rick Strickland
Steve Long

Craig Woolard w/ Embers feat. Craig Woolard
Gary Lowder w/ Gary Lowder & Smokin’ Hot
Jim Quick w/ Jim Quick & Coastline
Lesa Hudson w/ Rick Strickland Band
Tim Clark w/ Tim Clark Band